Meet Me in Montana!

Guess where I am?

University of Montana

Missoula, Montana! I just finished the first day of this year’s National Conference on Undergraduate Research (NCUR) and am having a lovely time with my roomie (and bestie)… doing homework. Hey, we’re at a nerdfest research conference – what else would you expect?

As I was in the middle of reading Byron’s Don Juan, a list of goals began to creep into my head. A list of crazy ridiculous over-reaching things I want to accomplish before graduation. But I suppose this isn’t new news to people who know me. I like setting big hard-to-reach goals. I make secret lists on Microsoft Word. I write them on colored post-its and stick them on my walls and closet doors. I constantly remind myself of the things I want so that I’ll get to work and make things happen. Some of them work out (i.e. my GRE score goals). And some of them don’t (i.e. becoming a Rhodes Scholar – darn that athletic requirement!). But what I really relish is that rush of knowing that there is this amazing thing out there that could be yours if only you worked a little harder.

Lately, however, I’ve been floundering a little. It’s hard to motivate yourself when you’re technically “finished with everything.” Senioritis hits and you’re supposed to finally RELAX and enjoy your last quarter in college. But I am a sad workoholic, which I guess makes me a horrible “second semester senior.” I feel gross and lazy when I’m not doing anything. Which is why I’m so excited to finally be inspired again and have a new list of semi-realistic goals. In March, my dad told me not to let my last quarter go to waste and I’m going to make sure that it doesn’t. Watch out, UCLA! I’m going to go out with a bang (and not a whimper like T.S. Eliot suggests).

P.S. This post was a bit of a bait-and-switch because YOU thought it was going to be about the conference, but really it was about my love of ridiculous goal-setting. I’m so tricky. 🙂

One thought on “Meet Me in Montana!

Leave a Reply

