Sigma Tau Delta Convention: Day One

1:00 AM Central Time – I should be asleep. But instead I am sitting on the checkered carpet of a hotel room in St. Louis, tapping away on my laptop. And other than a long nap on a 3 ½ hour plane ride (and a 30 min nap the night before), I have been awake now for 36 hours. Why oh why? You might ask. Let’s back track a little.

It’s finals week; not only do I have a final from 8-11 AM the day I need to leave for the Sigma Tau Delta Convention, but I also need to finish my delightfully long senior thesis. Solution: (as always) turn into Sophia the machine who doesn’t need sleep and runs on caffeine and adrenaline. Except this epic study monster secretly yearns for her blue pillow (fondly named Bloopy) and the ability to stop time so that she can take a nap without wasting time. I once met a girl who said that Napoleon only slept four hours a day and her goal was to one day achieve his level of dedication and sleep deprivation. Now personally, I love sleep a little too much for that. But there are definitely days when I understand the sentiment of wanting more hours in a day.

Anyways, long story short, I pulled one crazy all-nighter, sleep-wrote my Shakespeare final, threw all my conference clothes into a suitcase, and zoomed off to the airport. And now here I am in my awesome hotel room at the Hyatt, with an awesome view of the Arch, which I share with three awesome girls from The College of New Jersey (TCNJ). The rest of this week is going to be filled with awesomeness. Except – plot twist – I still need to finish that thesis before Friday at noon.

Will Sophia finish her thesis in time? Will she find time to enjoy her conference experience? Or will she have to drown herself in the Mississippi in disgrace when she fails to complete her mission? Find out next time on Sophialiteraria! 🙂

(I wonder if this is what the life of an academic is like: jetting off to distant cities, conversing about Jersey accents in hotel bars, and catching up on that never-ending pile of work late at night. I love it all. Reason #327 to become a professor: fantastic travel opportunities.)

One thought on “Sigma Tau Delta Convention: Day One

Leave a Reply

