For One Night Only

Wow, so I haven’t posted for awhile… What with GREs, research (and research fellowship applications), and three upper divs, this quarter has turned out to be my busiest. However, I’ve also been able to have a lot of fun.

Munich Symphony Orchestra

Since the last time I posted, I’ve been able to attend the UCLA Vietnamese Student Union (VSU) Cultural Night, Guillermina Quiroga Dance Company’s Tango, Historias Breves, a talk with Edward Albee (got a signed copy of Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? :)), a film concert discussion with Werner Herzog, and a concert for the Munich Symphony Orchestra (amazing). Off the stage, I explored the LA Farmer’s Market and saw Slumdog Millionaire TWICE (that’s how much I loved it) before the Oscars. 

Unfortunately, all this activity hasn’t given me much spare time to do reviews or post on this blog, but I shall attempt to briefly make it up to you. 🙂

Everytime I step into Royce Hall, I experience the same nervous giddiness the first time I saw a show there. There’s a sort of gasping anticipation suspended in the air as you impatiently wait for the lights to dim and the curtains to draw. 

The extraordinary thing about live performance is that no matter how many times you return, everytime you see the show, it will be the first time that you have experienced it. Not only does the performance change, but so does the audience, the environment, and even yourself – all of which affect how you perceive what happens on the stage. 

Very often the modern audience forgets the magic of live performance and the need to be in the playhouse or symphony hall in order to experience it. With our iPods, DVDs, and (let’s face it) pirated downloads, we become used to seeing/hearing the same act over and over again. Because we are so used to recorded sound and film, we tend to forget that they  are simply one version of all the possibilities that could exist with that particular score or script.

And so, I urge you to go to the theatre. Yes, it does tend to be expensive (be a volunteer usher like me!), but there’s something immediate, irreplacable, and sublime about the stage that makes you feel oh so alive.

One thought on “For One Night Only

Leave a Reply

