The One in Which Sophia Whines (Briefly)

The first day of Fall quarter has arrived!

I’ve always been a silly kid who got really excited about class the night before and would pick out nice colored notebooks that matched the mood of the course (this year it’s lime-green for philosophy :D). I’d walk merrily to class, at least ten minutes early to stake out the prized middle seat of the fourth row, and afterwards go home to cheerfully fill up my shiny new planner with paper deadlines and final exam dates. It rarely occurs to me that I’m going to be stressed out most of the quarter until somewhere around the fifth week when I realise my sleep schedule’s all messed up, I haven’t had breakfast for two weeks, and I’ve already gone through a brand-new ballpoint pen from taking so many notes.

Yes, Sophia is an optimist. And she doesn’t get any wiser each time around.

But this time around, I think I already know what horrors await me. Everyone complains about the amount of homework they receive, but I always feel like English majors aren’t allowed to whine about how much reading they have each quarter. “Uhh.. well, this is your major,” people say, like they’ve never lamented about doing math problems or writing lab reports. To a certain extent, I agree; this is how college is so don’t whine, groan, or cry about it. Yet at the same time, sometimes the workload just seems so daunting.

I will try to make this the first and last time I lament about English homework on this blog, but this just seems so crazy that I thought I’d share. Here’s my Fall 2008 reading list for my two English classes (English Literature: 1832 to Present & English Renaissance Drama: 1567 to 1642):

  • Elizabeth Gaskell, Cranford
  • Alfred Tennyson, In Memoriam
  • Anthony Trollope, Dr. Wortle’s School
  • George Bernard Shaw, Plays
  • The Penguin Book of first World War Poetry
  • Jean Rhys, Good Morning, Midnight
  • Sam Selvon, The Lonely Londoners
  • Joe Orton, The Complete Plays
  • Caryl Churchill, Plays: 2
  • Carol Ann Duffy, Rapture
  • Thomas Kyd, The Spanish Tragedy
  • Christopher Marlowe, Tamburlaine the Great, Part I
  • Christopher Marlowe, Doctor Faustus
  • George Chapman, Bussy D’Ambois
  • Thomas Dekker, The Shoemakers’ Holiday
  • Ben Jonson, Bartholomew Fair
  • Thomas Middleton, The Revenger’s Tragedy
  • Thomas Middleton, A Chaste Maid in Cheapside
  • Thomas Middleton and William Rowley, The Changeling
  • John Webster, The Duchess of Malfi
  • John Ford, Tis Pity She’s a Whore

Sigh. There goes my social life. Well, it’s off to reading, reading, reading! Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “The One in Which Sophia Whines (Briefly)

  1. Wow dearie… if you’re not reading the next time I see you…
    haha 🙂 Good luck! I know you’ll be able to handle it.
    After all, books are your dear lovers. hehe

  2. Hey, I liked reading your Blog, I’m well, a little bit older, and I was amazed how excited I was to be starting College again after 16 years, Yikes! I know some serious stuff is about to go down, but for some reason, Optimism seems to be winning, I guess in my fith week I will see if that still is the case lol. That’s some list of books you got going there, I should put my few books on and see if anyone else is reading them as well lol. Nice to meet you, my name is Lucy 🙂

Leave a Reply

