Que Gordo!

Whenever I see Fernando Botero’s work, it just cracks me up so much. The man basically makes a living out of painting (and sculpting) fat people. If you want to get analytical, perhaps you could say that the corpulence of his subjects symbolizes the excesses of luxury and bourgeois living. Or you might say Botero intends to mock the classical conventions of art by using art icons, such as Da Vinci’s Mona Lisa, and fattening them up. But today, I shall not pontificate. I simply wanted to share with you the very odd painter whose art greeted me when I randomly decided to open my Pasajes – Literatura for the first time this summer.

2 thoughts on “Que Gordo!

Leave a Reply

